• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

2017 Roy, Personal Guide + Thoughts

Solarquatic

Smash Rookie
Hey everyone, Dream here. I'm a Falco main from FL who just recently moved out of the country, and with plenty of time on my hands, I decided to go ahead and chalk down some of my thoughts on Roy, my favorite 2ndary character. I've been playing Melee for a few years at an intermediate level with Falco; and while I don't really play Roy that often in bracket, it's something I've been meaning to change for awhile. I play a lot of Roy on the side and really like exploring what limited tools that the character has, seeing just how far I can go against popular high-tier characters- thoughts it's usually not that far at all.

Regardless, I really wanted to put out a condensed modern guide for people who are looking to try Roy out in late 2016/early 2017. To be honest, aside from exarch's very detailed guide (2015) that's already stickied, there really aren't any practical guides for mid-level players who want to work on a secondary or expand their neutral/combo game with Roy. Nor are there any VOD's from the last 3 years (or even less recent) that are easily found for newer Roy players to watch and learn from. Really, there isn't much at all for people to go on when it comes to expanding their Roy game, leaving many people who might have potentially played him as a secondary instead just dropping the character because they can't learn from a better player how to approach something like Roy's neutral game.