1. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 140,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 14 million posted discussions!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  2. The official Nintendo White Controller is on sale for under $33 right now! Get it before the price increases! Also, get the special Wii U - Smash Gamecube controller here!

  3. Trying to find the perfect gift? Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash accessories, like a Nintendo Controller! Please check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

Wii Freezes at Stage Select Screen

Discussion in 'Brawl General Discussion' started by KumaOso, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. KumaOso

    KumaOso Smash Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15,085
    Location:
    Lousiana
    3DS FC:
    1590-4853-0104
    NNID:
    KumaOso
    I've decided to get back into playing Brawl and when I decide to go to training mode, my Wii just freezes up and makes this loud noise and I can only turn of the machine by unplugging it.

    I don't have any issues with any of my other games, so does anyone know what's wrong? The only thing I can think of is that I had some disc read errors with Brawl in the past so that might be it.
  2. Mario_and_Sonic_Guy

    Mario_and_Sonic_Guy Cosmic Beauty

    • Moderator
    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11,109
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    3DS FC:
    5327-1637-5096
    NNID:
    TPitch5
    The Wii tends to not handle dual-layered discs as well as the single-layered ones. At least, I think that's the case.
  3. Sunnysunny

    Sunnysunny Blue-nubis

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,909
    Location:
    Peyton, Colorado
    Do you frequently use texture hacks? Thats like the leading cause of premature brawl disk deaths.
  4. KumaOso

    KumaOso Smash Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15,085
    Location:
    Lousiana
    3DS FC:
    1590-4853-0104
    NNID:
    KumaOso
    The only time I used mods was Brawl+ over a year ago. Never used texture hacks.
  5. Crappin Falcon

    Crappin Falcon Smash Rookie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    North Carolina
    try taking out any SD cards before you enter the stage select screen.

    I have Brawl- on my SD card, and, for some reason, whenever I leave it in the Wii and try to pick Final Destination, my Wii freezes.
  6. Mario_and_Sonic_Guy

    Mario_and_Sonic_Guy Cosmic Beauty

    • Moderator
    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11,109
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    3DS FC:
    5327-1637-5096
    NNID:
    TPitch5
    I don't use B+ or B-, so Brawl doesn't really crash on me, unless I goofed up with my hack changes.
  7. KumaOso

    KumaOso Smash Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15,085
    Location:
    Lousiana
    3DS FC:
    1590-4853-0104
    NNID:
    KumaOso
    So I did some more work. I checked my data management and everything and noticed that the SD card's data, which had about 9 games, was not being picked up unless you went to the SD menu from the home menu.

    I checked the data on my laptop and noticed that I still had data from Brawl+ in my game. My guess is that Brawl did not take kindly to the mix of "legit" data and the mod data. Moral of the story: Don't mix the mod data with any other stuff or **** gets nasty.

    I put the disc back into the Wi and I get an error message, requiring me to turn it off. This time, all my VC games are on the Wii's flash drive.
  8. Jonas

    Jonas Smash Champion

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,392
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark, Europe
    It sounds like a software issue and not a hardware issue. When your Wii gives up on dual layer discs, you usually just get a DRE message, not a total freeze.

    I once played around with some silly Brawl hacks. Turns out they corrupted my save file for good so that the game would always freeze when I entered certain stages or listened to certain music. Luckily someone had made a fix that I could just download and restore my save file with. Maybe you played a buggy version of B+ and just never had your save file fixed?
  9. KumaOso

    KumaOso Smash Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    15,085
    Location:
    Lousiana
    3DS FC:
    1590-4853-0104
    NNID:
    KumaOso
    Should I delete my save file then? Then again, my Wii will either not recognize the disc or give me the disc read error.
  10. Mario_and_Sonic_Guy

    Mario_and_Sonic_Guy Cosmic Beauty

    • Moderator
    • Premium
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11,109
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    3DS FC:
    5327-1637-5096
    NNID:
    TPitch5
    I don't think erasing your game data will fix up your disc problem.
  11. Psymon

    Psymon Welsh Representative

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Wales
    I've recently had this problem when going onto the 'Additional Rules' menu. I'm using texture hacks, and have a new character selection screen. Any suggestions as to why this is happening?
  12. SphericalCrusher

    SphericalCrusher Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    NNID:
    SphericalCrusher
    Pop out any SD card you have. Mine freezes if I leave the SD card in there that has PM on it.
  13. Psymon

    Psymon Welsh Representative

    • Premium
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Wales
    Don't I need it whilst I'm playing, or does it just need to load up and then I can remove it?

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?