• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

How do you see the future of competitive SSBB?

ProMeleeFighter

Smash Rookie
Hello, wanted to ask you as you see the future of competitive SSBB: tournaments, KDD ... etc.
Thank you.

lordvaati

Smash Master
Switch FC
SW-4918-2392-4599
Unsure, really.Brawl tournaments are still relatively popular(there was near I live at this week even), but in between the surging popularity of Melee post EVO as well as the upcoming release of SSB4(whic is looking to improve a LOT ofthe flaws here,) it may end up becoming a cult tourney game like 64 in a few years.

darf nate

Smash Cadet
im guessing it will die. melee stayed alive because to anyone that's not a total noob its obvious that it takes more skill than any of the other smash bros games.

TreK

Is "that guy"
I don't think we'd organize a 'revival of Brawl' tourney after SSB4's hype factor runs out of fuel. It's not that I don't want to, it's just that considering the game's reputation, it would not be a smart move.
Anyway, I think the only smart move here for TOs is to continue organizing Brawl tourneys until there's not enough people playing it to cover the fees. I know I won't miss a tourney in my region until there's no tourney to miss.

nat pagle

Smash Ace
3DS FC
0834-1759-2409
It'll probably fade away behind Smash 4 and Melee. Melee's going to reign as the most technical of the bunch while Smash 4 will be the newest and most relevant installment.

smashmachine

Smash Lord
it probably dies upon SSB4's release, unless it ends up worse than brawl (in which case, all hell breaks loose)

-LzR-

Smash Hero