1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 150,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 15 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

3. Trying to find the perfect gift? Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash accessories, like a Nintendo Controller! Please check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

German words from The Book Thief

Discussion in 'Pool Room Archive' started by TheFifthMan, Dec 30, 2007.

1. TheFifthMan

TheFifthMan Smash Journeyman

A couple blocks away from Purdue University
    I am currently studying The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak, and there are two German words that are constantly repeated: Saumensch and Saukerl. What do they mean? I tried free translation and I got "sow person" and "sow fellow" from them.

oh btw you should read the book. it's goooood.
  2. Crimson King

Crimson King I am become death

• Back Roomer

In German compound words are quite common. Mensch means "Human being" and Kerl means "guy." Haven't a clue what Sau means, but "Sow" sounds right.
  3. commonyoshi

commonyoshi Smash Hero

The two probably mean something along the lines of a farmer or workhand.

And thanks for the recommendation. I've been looking for a book to read, and the Wiki synopsis sounds great.
  4. TheFifthMan

I'm pretty sure they're expletives.
  5. Crystallion

Crystallion Smash Ace