1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 150,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 15 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

  3. Trying to find the perfect gift? Use the Smashboards Store to get awesome Smash accessories, like a Nintendo Controller! Please check out the inventory in our store and support Smashboards with your purchase today!

Guide Gameshark Code Collection

Discussion in 'Smash 64 Discussion' started by Madao, Oct 6, 2013.

  1. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    As requested, I decided to make this thread. Some values are in floating point so I recommend you use a float to hex calculator. I will put (F) next to any code that uses floating point numbers. Any floating point code that is only 2 bytes (like Up B) load that 2 byte value as the upper half and the lower half are 0's. So 429A = 429A0000 = 77.0. Some codes used signed values (meaning positive and negative numbers), like Blast Line coordinates, if you type in -3500 into your windows calculator and switch to hex, just take the last 4 digits. For example if I type in -3500 and convert it to hex, the calculator will display FFFFFFFFFFFFF254, so the value you write in is F254. Also for coordinates, going left decreases X, going right increases X, going up increases Y, going down decreases Y.

    Please feel free to contribute by adding codes you know. I am also accepting requests (so long as it's not too difficult or time consuming). If you guys want to modify moveset data, let me know what stage and mode. I will do the first few, then I can teach you guys how to make your own codes.

    If you want to use a code only at a specific event, then use activators.
    D0 and D1 for checking if a value = a specific value & D2 and D3 are used for checking if a value != a specific value. The D replaces the 8. You use D0 for 1 Byte codes and D1 for 2 Byte codes (just like you do for 80 and 81).
    Example, if I want to alter stage selection in VS mode. 800A4D09 is the address for VS mode stage #. The following code will make you go to Dreamland when you select Planet Zebes.
    D00A4D09 0003 (3 = Planet Zebes)
    800A4D09 0006 (6 = DreamLand)

    Button Activator values
    0000 No Buttons
    0001 C-Right
    0002 C-Left
    0004 C-Down
    0008 C-Up
    0010 R
    0020 L
    0100 D-Pad Right
    0200 D-Pad Left
    0400 D-Pad Down
    0800 D-Pad Up
    1000 Start
    2000 Z
    4000 B
    8000 A

    If you want to use multiple buttons in 1 activator code, you can add the values. For example, if you want to make a button activator code for player 1 for holding A & B at the same time, the code will be D109EFA4 C000.
    One cool trick with copying and pasting is to hold alt+shift so you can vertically highlight whatever you want. It can save you time when writing codes in a text editor like notepad++.
    I made a cheat engine table for several emulators since it's very helpful for learning about the game and hacking. Nemu, Mupen, hacked version of PJ64KVE, & 1964. [Last updated 05/03/2014]
    Last edited: May 3, 2014
    Birdo!, M!nt, THE_MAAFIA and 9 others like this.
  2. Sangoku

    Sangoku Banned (6 Points)

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,836
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland

    Thanks, another very useful post by you! That should be added to the Smash Index (:troll:)
    Madao and Zenyore like this.
  3. rjgbadger

    rjgbadger Banned (6 Points)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada
    is there/can you make an infinite shield code?
  4. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Yes, i will add shield codes. There's just so much for me to type in and so I posted the thread early and will constantly update original post with more codes. Thanks for reminding me though, I totally forgot about shields.
  5. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Madao should be added to the Smash Index.

    button activator codes for console, for each player port:
    Player 1: D109EFA4 ????
    Player 2: D109EFAC ????
    Player 3: D109EFB4 ????
    Player 4: D109EFBC ????

    the way these codes work: while a button(indicated by ????'s) is pressed, the code that follows this one is activated.

    (i used to have codes that would be active always, then would turn off on button press, but i lost them in a txt file somewhere on a hard drive :()

    someone already did work finding out button presses hex values and made a nice program to ez create any combo you could want, so ill just post the program so values can be applied to the codes listed above.

    SM64Activator1V0.zip

    all you do when you want to grab a button combination as a hex value is tick each box regarding the button you want pressed then click 'generate' or whatever the button is called in the program. you use the last 4 digits and ignore the beginning part of the generated code. selecting PAL/NTSC doesn't matter.


    Example: ON CONSOLE, you want to be able to play on battlefield and metal mario stage; but you want flexible stage choice as to be able to play on not only one stage for all of your game session. with these codes, at stage select screen, player 1 can HOLD L and Right D-Pad for Battlefield or player 3 can HOLD L and Left D-Pad for Metal Mario stage. Hold L+ Dpad then TAP a or start/have another player press a or start to begin. the reason for this requirement is that if Player 1(or 3, with respect to code) introduces another button press for too long, the hex value changes and this the code won't work.

    D109EFA4 0220 (0120 = value for L and Right D-Pad)
    800A4D09 000E

    D109EFB4 0220 (0220 = value for L and Left D-Pad)
    800A4D09 000D

    these are the codes i used in the FD Codes PDF i put together
    Madao likes this.
  6. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    Giga Shield (All Modes, All Players) 810E6244 AE17

    Shattered Shield (All Players, All Modes) 810E62A0 01EF

    Shields Don't Drain Over Time (All Players, All Modes) 8114834C 2400

    Rate Shields Drain (All Players, All Modes)",81148346 ????
    Cheat213_N=Convertido de A.AR a U.GS by Gaudy [Emudigital]
    Cheat213_O=,$0000 - No Drain,$0001 - Crece,$FFFA - Fast Drain,$FFFF - Default



    I have only one request: can you make a code for the red type of hitbox display?
    If it's too hard, you can put restrictions such as VS mode and Dream Land.
    Madao likes this.
  7. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Thanks for reminding me about controller stuff. I will try to learn more about controller codes.

    @mixa I'll add the red hitbox code. I wasn't sure if anyone wanted it so I left it out.

    Lol i'm wondering if it's better to fully nop the 4 byte value or just do a half nop.
  8. DMoogle

    DMoogle A$

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,365
    Location:
    Northern VA, USA

    Didn't realize someone else requested it, I was about to request this as well. You're doing god's work.

    I assume you'll keep the OP updated, but in case you don't, anyone else can PM me if it needs updating.
    Madao likes this.
  9. rjgbadger

    rjgbadger Banned (6 Points)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada

    thank.you.somuch.
  10. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    Pokémon colors for the hurtbox

    Click here to see them.


    How to put any color you want (thanks Madao)
    Madao likes this.
  11. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Nice work! I'll keep updating the OP. There's so much stuff I have written down and also things I forgot to write down, so this is going to take a while to complete lol.

    I hope this thread will help with the hitbox animation collection as well as the Reality 64 project (since you can modify the game to see what kind of changes you'd want). I'll be too busy to work on screenshotting Falcon's hitbox images, so I have to put that on hold for now.
  12. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL

    OMFG WE CAN HAVE ALTERNATE STAGES ON STAGE SELECT SCREEN. GODLIKE!

    MAXIMUM BEST MADAO, SUPER BEAST.

    I'M STANDING UP RIGHT NOW, ****! this is BETTEREST!!!!
    bloodpeach and Madao like this.
  13. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Did the stage code work?
    I'm going to do jumping and Z Cancelling next, any other suggestions? I'm also looking into moveset data. I know I don't have too many codes, I'm focusing mostly on the ones I've created for now since no one else has publicly posted them. Once I'm done with what I got, I'll start posting more of other people's codes.
  14. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    yes it worked

    can you make a timer + stocks code??? :)
    B-Town and B Link like this.
  15. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    By timer + stocks code, I'm guessing you want a timed VS mode? Not quite sure what your goal is, but I will look into stocks + timer. Has anyone been able to make an unlimited stocks code? I've only been able to change the starting stock number so far.
  16. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    like have a 5 stock match that has an 8 minute timer

    the game can end either on last stock or when time expires
  17. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    So, I know that there is an anti-modifier for the Pokémon that appear in Saffron City, i.e. you choose one pkmn you don't want to appear.

    Code:
    Pokémon Anti-Modifier 80131412 00??
    N=Choose the Pokémon you don't want to appear. There is no Pokémon modifier.
    O=$00 - Chansey,$01 - Electrode,$02 - Charmander,$03 - Venusaur,$04 - Porygon
    Is this possible for the pokéball? this was asked by a friend of mine. We wanted to get rid of Goldeen.

    Btw, Koffing in hitbox mode looks really cool.
  18. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    I meant to say timed stock match, so my guess was correct :). I'm not sure if the game allows both to be on, but maybe we could create an activator code? Idk how I'd be able to trigger the sudden death event. So far I found the timer, but now I have to figure out how to display it in a non timed match, and then i have to figure out how to make the game check both.

    Lol according to Ant-D, there's a percentage that each pokemon will appear. Assuming he is correct, all I'd have to do is set the chance to 0. I'll look into that after i figure out how to get the timer working in a stock match. Lol you should see Koffing in the purple hurtbox mode. I tried the anti modifier and it didn't work.

    Edit: I just realised thats the same address for dream land wind and hyrule tornado. As of now, I'm clueless on how to debug pokeballs since I don't know any of the values.
  19. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    gulp...seems like a TALL ORDER but uh, it's what competitive matches lack



    also, would you know any way to patch a game rom with gameshark codes so that the rom would have the codes applied without turning any codes on???
  20. Danny_SsB

    Danny_SsB Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Chile
    Hi guys, i have the code for Stock-Time Match, made by me, the way of works is a bit weird

    Time-Stock Match
    810A4D0A 0003

    1. Go to Vs Mode
    2. Configure the number of Stocks and the Time (i dont remember this part, try select a Stock Match or Time Match)
    3. Select Your Character
    4. Before you select a Stage, turn on the Time-Stock Match code and select the stage
    5. After the Match, turn off the code, because if your have the code turn on in the next match the Stocks metter get frozen
    firo, KoRoBeNiKi, KnitePhox and 2 others like this.
  21. The Star King

    The Star King Smash Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,322
    holy crap dude where have you been all these years
  22. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    we can probably have this on console

    going to test asap
    Zenyore likes this.
  23. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Edit: Ya stock mode worked. Thanks Danny! In the video you posted, did you put unlimited jump? Looks really interesting lol. I'm also impressed you edited the blast line for the stage. I forgot to post the blastline code, so I will do that soon.
    Danny_SsB likes this.
  24. Danny_SsB

    Danny_SsB Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Chile
    playing Project M, SSB64 in P2P kaillera and very busy in the university ^-^, i have some others interesting codes like this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLbwtT1-2pk Madao, try the Stock Match Mode
    Madao likes this.
  25. Sensei

    Sensei Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,986
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    Mario/Luigi top tier for their air dash "Woo Hoo" voices.

    It would be amazing if you could adjust it so their fireballs would never disappear.

    Samus charging her charge shot in mid air or just giving her unlimited charge shots with no start-up time lol.
    Danny_SsB likes this.
  26. Danny_SsB

    Danny_SsB Smash Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Chile
    I have the code for a custom movement of fireballs and duration
  27. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    That nighttime Dream Land is sweet.


    If you start with a stock match, how do you determine how many minutes the timer will have?
    Also, when I tested it, I had the number of stocks I had chosen, but the screen displayed only one stock head.
  28. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    confirm that hitbox codes and stock+time match work on console...at the same time, lol

    it's laggy at some parts and skips and desyncs...LOL. codes work.
    video proof:http://youtu.be/_J3BTQn6ktc

    Thanks a lot Madao and Danny SSB.


    EDIT: message count 1,111 k00l
    Danny_SsB and Madao like this.
  29. KnitePhox

    KnitePhox Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,602
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    combo meter from training mode on in all modes...?

    EDIT:uh oh time for infraction for dub post...
    The Star King likes this.
  30. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Lol that will be a hard one, because I don't have a solid understanding of how the modes work. I'm still working on the stock + timer code to make it work without requiring button activator. I'll give it a try, since I want to find out more about the different modes. One code I've been trying to figure out is playing Final Destination in training mode lol. It always crashes when I try to pick stages in training mode that aren't on the menu.

    I also added Z Cancelling codes.

    @mixa, I added the time and stock modifier. If you for w/e reason decide not to use the modifier code, the last settings you use are what count. Say you select 4 stocks, then leave the menu and put time mode, when you do the code, you will have 4 stocks.

    I just found out how to hack roms :). Now I need to find a convenient way to make patches since I just hex edit the actual rom. Most of these gameshark codes I made are easy to make a patch for. Things that I am not able to hack are character data (it uses some compression algorithm I believe) and also codes that just freeze a value (like the stock+timer code) or stage selection.
  31. Skrlx

    Skrlx Banned (6 Points)

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,670
    lol'd hard at the match after reading the first top comment
  32. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    I created my first patch :) . What you will need is PPFOmatic and my patch. If you want to create your own patch, use PPFStudio.

    This wasn't really a serious patch, I just wanted to see what I can do and what happens as a result. Make sure to copy your original rom before patching, because it overwrites the file you select.

    Timed + stock is flawed though. If one person suicides and still has an equal number of stocks vs other person, they win.
  33. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    PPFOmatic link is broken. ):

    Yeah, almost made a post about this. IIRC, in Melee you can set that an SD equals to - 2 points. Since a kill in time mode is +1 / -1, it would make no difference if the player SD'd or got killed.
    Madao likes this.
  34. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    Thanks again for letting me know. I fixed the link. I guess that would be an easy solution for the timed stock mode. My original idea was to try and hack the game so that the last person who attacked you, gets the kill. Not only would that be harder to make a code for, but it might be bugged in a team stock match with team attack on. I will have to figure out how the point system works (in code).

    Hacking roms is easier than I thought. The self modifying code is no longer an issue for me. Now I have to figure out compression so I can access the character data. For now I can only modify game physics, rules, and a few character related things like UP B mechanics, charging, etc, and I believe I can do moveset and animation swaps (Falcon knee ftw :) ).

    Also I'm out of ideas here. Any other requests besides pokemon (I'm working on it) and HUD codes?
  35. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    There is a code for the Falcon knee, which is the 3rd jab swapped, but it doesn't feel like a knee at all, the hitstun is short and the knockback weak (which is exactly how the 3rd jab behaves).

    What HUD codes are you working on?

    I have one idea, but it's really superfluous compared to other stuff that's been proposed, and I never know how hard it'll be to code it. But yeah, I was thinking about, upon starting a match, having Player 1 spawn at Player 4's position.
  36. Gammelnorsk

    Gammelnorsk Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    millersville, pennsylvania

    that is how i feel when i see this mumbojumbo too
  37. The Star King

    The Star King Smash Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,322
    I don't think fixing it is that important because Melee's and Brawl's are "flawed" too, in that they take same stocks as a tie, when we say it's a victory for whoever had the lowest % is. My point is, we already don't pay attention to whoever the game says the winner is - we can see who won ourselves. Unless you wanna also code in the game checking % for the winner, that would be nice.

    But if you really wanna fix how the game determines the winner then this would be a problem, as well:

    Since the game doesn't seem to treat it as a suicide, I don't think a "SD gives -2 points" would work". Player 1 Jigglypuff can abuse this and shieldbreak herself to reset her % with no cost to her score.

    Actually I thought of something while writing this post. I figured this isn't Jigglypuff exclusive. Upon testing some shieldbreak suicide stuff, it looks whoever hit your shield last will get the kill. But the developers forgot to account shieldbreak deaths without anyone hitting your shield, which are possible, so it works strangely then. I guess it doesn't know who to assign the kill to and so gives it to the default P1, or something, instead of treating it as an SD.

    I tested it by suiciding with a shieldbreak while on Peach's Castle's moving platform with Falcon, so that it moves away from him and Falcon misses the platform (edit: oh yeah, you can also just roll to any edge and hold shield, and you'll miss the edge when you break). Sure enough, as player 1, he got +1 -1.
    Madao likes this.
  38. Madao

    Madao Smash Ace

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    I haven't got around to HUD stuff yet (it took me a while to fix the stock display when using the timed stock match), so I can't do that till later. KnitePhox wanted to display the combo meter in all modes, but that code sounds hard to do. I wish more people here knew how to debug lol.
    I learned the moveset and animation swap from Felipe's thread. Animation is separate from damage & hitbox, so I can have the look of the knee, but with the damage and timing of any other of Falcon's moves (I tried his neutral air for damage). It's still not perfect, but if you wanted a very specific code, like player 1 on dream land vs mode always Z cancels, you have a lot more possibilities. I could look into spawning, but it would probably only work for a specific match if I even figure out the code to make player 1 spawn in player 4's area. Also with that spawning code, would you want player 4 to spawn in player 1's spot? Seems complicated lol.

    Edit: @ The Star King, nice find! I totally forgot about Jigglypuff's shield break. I never knew about that glitch. I should go ahead and look through the code to see why player 1 gets the kill. So I guess the timed stock code + the stock display fix is good enough for now lol. Maybe I should take away kill points, does that sound like a good idea?
  39. mixa

    mixa Smash Lord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    Isle of ゆぅ
    Whatever you do with Falcon is great. Today I tried to simulate Falco's illusion edge cancel on Battlefield with that cheat you made for Fox Up B with no delay, pretty fun, though I didn't have the tech skill to finish the way I wanted xD

    Yeah, I agree with this. Reminded me of that recent Brawl stuff.

    I would only use it in VS mode, on Hyrule and Dream Land. And it would be a 1v1, so you wouldn't have to worry about player 4.


    edit: combo meter on VS mode would be cool but I know from copying various combos from matches that a great number of them aren't true combos. Some leave a good amound of time for the player to react, but I guess sometimes the player isn't trying to escape per se.
  40. The Star King

    The Star King Smash Hero

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,322
    Taking away all kill points is probably the simplest solution actually, nice idea. Don't have to make SDs -2 or anything. Just counting deaths is basically the score system of stock, after all. There's still the problem of % though, don't know how feasible that would be, I don't know anything about Gameshark coding.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

We know you don't like ads
Why not buy Premium?